DON’T WATCH THE SKIES

On February 24th this year I hope to lying in a hospital bed with my head swathed in bandages.  Either that or unconscious, but no long term coma – I need to be up and about in a day or two, either the Thursday or Friday that week.

Why you ask?

Its all due to this

Can triffids be far behind

Can Triffids be far behind

Its called Comet Lulin, and NASA is saying its green color comes from the gases that make up its Jupiter-sized atmosphere. Jets spewing from the comet’s nucleus contain cyanogen, a poisonous gas found in many comets and diatomic carbon. Both substances glow green when illuminated by sunlight in the near-vacuum of space.

This is all very well, but I recall another bright green light linked to a comet.

‘..the Earth’s orbit passed through a cloud of comet debris. You can even believe it, if you like – millions did…

…It was reported in the news-bulletins during the day that mysterious bright green flashes had been seen….”

The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham

So normally the_weapon and I would go up into the hills with our reflecting telescope to check it out.

But not this time.

This time,

Don’t watch the sky.

7 Comments

  1. Yay! Green comets!

    And of course, if I sleep through this astronomic event as I have slept through most every other one I’ve intended to see (ever since Comet Halley turned out to be a skinny little bitch with no tits, so to speak) I shall be one of the non-blind triffid smushers.

    I wonder what triffid tastes like?

  2. From memory Triffids were farmed for their seed oil, and produced a rather light and sweet vegetable oil. Very productive but somewhat dangerous, and in fact the main character (whose name escapes me) had worked on a Triffid farm and got injured – which is why he was in hospital with his eyes bandaged up at the start of the story.

    I’m not going out to look either… and I recall Haley’s Comet as a bit of a dud (I was out bush with the Army when it was around and got about as good a view of it as anyone wit only binoculars for viewing).

  3. I’ll be to busy with the new place for comet watching so I’ll be safe.

  4. Is it bad that I read this and my first thought was “Hmm….I wonder if this could get me out of work?”

  5. OT-but since you’re the expert on all things zombie:

    If you run across a zombified elderly person with no teeth, are they all that dangerous?

  6. i’ll be in the shed..CLEANING UP AGAIN or in the STUDY, AGAIN cleaning up or reading…BRING IT ON, have a new petrol driven trimmer and extension pole.. OH YES, we are BAD!

  7. The BBC are doing an updated version of the mini series they did back in the 80’s.
    DOTT was one of the first SF books I read. Got me hooked and I’ve always rated it as one of the best, alongside Wells.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

