A day that will live in INFAMY

“A date which will live in infamy…no matter how long it may take us to overcome this, …the American people, in their righteous might, will win through….”

Obviously he was referring to the granting of a U.S. patent 735,777 on 12 August 1903 to the KATO coffee company for “Coffee Concentrate and process of making same”

That right INSTANT COFFEE was unleashed upon the world at the PAN AMERICIAN Exposition in Buffalo later that year. This is probably why U.S.President William McKinley was shot when he visited the fair in September.

I admit it is a luxury, but a fine espresso is a civilized start to any day and a cup of instant coffee is an abomination.

“No one can understand the truth until he drinks of coffee’s frothy goodness”. ~Sheik Abd-al-Kadir

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the beans of Java the thoughts acquire speed, the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning. It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion” -my co-workers get nervous when I start muttering this.

Whose up for a cup?

6 Comments

  1. I didn’t know just who came up with instant coffee. I’ll be darned! You gotta admit, though, that it was a popular invention. A big pile of the stuff gets sold every day.

    I’ll have a big cup of the regular stuff, though, if you’re buying.

    • ‘regular’ stuff,

      my Stuff is never regular, always extraordinary.

  2. Barnes I will convert and buy a machine, but I’ll have to run the stocks out first. I’ll come to you for recommendations when it’s time.

    • Please ignore the excessive coffee wankerism you will have to put up with when you say you will be seeking such a machine.

      A stove top espresso machine, pick it up if it feels heavy and solid then its good.

      Buy good beans, whole and only grind them when you need them.

      Pour and enjoy.

  3. I too have no stomach for instant. When I did drink the stuff it was Moccona (if it’s instant at least it’s ‘reasonable’ instant). Too much utter crap like International Roast has seen me eschew such crap unless suffering SEVERE caffeine withdrawal.

    We get the good stuff from Paddo Markets, have done for years. Only use a plunger because a)full on machines are too fucking pricey and fiddy and b)it’s faster first thing in the morning. I’d like one of those fancier plunger thingies (can’t remember what they are called…).

    Oh, a Flat White with two (standard NATO!) if you’re buying.

    • I would like to see a stomach that was for instant, on second thoughts no I wouldn’t


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

